Day 0: What’s Going On Here?

I’ve been looking for a year-long blog project for a while, even before I heard about WordPress’ Project 365.  But when they started talking about it, I decided to go ahead and come up with a one-year blogging experiment.

I decided to go with a walk through Billboard Magazine’s #1 pop songs… I was a weekend DJ for an oldies station (WBBT-FM/Richmond, VA) for 7 years, after all.  Back in the ‘80s, I actually collected every single to hit the Billboard Top 40 – that collection was sold off years ago, sadly. 

So anyway, here’s what you’re going to see here.  Each day, I’m going to spotlight one song that reached the #1 spot on Billboard’s Hot 100 (or the predecessor charts) on that day in the “Rock Era” (between 1955 and 2011).  What are my criteria?  A song that interests me, and/or gives me something to write about.  Not every post will be exclusively about the song of the day – some will tell stories tied to the song, or I’ll find something in the lyrics that allows me to wander off on a tangent. 

There are some days where no songs went to #1.  To keep the blog-a-day momentum going, I’ll write up a song that went to #1 within a few days on either side of that date.  You’ll see what that means within the first two weeks of 2012.

Needless to say, the Billboard charts are copyrighted by Billboard Magazine.  As far as I know, this use of the data is a protected fair use – if Billboard thinks otherwise, we’ll all find out together.

The project officially gets rolling tomorrow with a duo from my old neck of the woods.  See you then.

One comment on “Day 0: What’s Going On Here?

  1. tshang says:

    Sounds like fun. I look forward to it. I am also participating in project 365 in 2012 and am adding all of those that I can find who are also participating to my blogroll. I have added your site and look forward to watching it grow over the next year.

Leave a Reply

