Day 203: Bad Bad Leroy Brown

Song: “Bad Bad Leroy Brown” by Jim Croce
Reached #1: July 21, 1973 (his first, 2 weeks)

Meaner than a Junkyard Dog (THUMP!)…

This was the biggest of his hits that Jim Croce was alive to see.

Two months after “Bad Bad Leroy Brown” hit #1, Croce was among six killed in the crash of a small plane in Natchitoches, Louisiana, after a concert there.

I kind of remember this song coming out – I was 9 at the time – and while I didn’t quite get all of the references, I know I enjoyed it.  I don’t remember hearing about Croce’s death (a couple of days before my 10th birthday), so I can’t tell you how I reacted… it may have been the first celebrity death that I might’ve actually connected to, though. 

Croce’s music has held up well over the years… his legacy has been celebrated this year by his widow, Ingrid, and the son he never met, A.J.  They have released a book (“I Got A Name”) that is available from the Croces’ website, and have operated Croce’s Restaurant in San Diego for years.

Sorry, not much more to add.  Enjoy the rare live performance above, and I’ll see you tomorrow when the blog gets bent…

Other songs that reached #1 on July 21:
1958 –
Two songs reached #1.
     – “Yakety Yak” by the Coasters (their first, 1 week, Top 100 chart)
     – “Hard Headed Woman/Don’t Ask Me Why” by Elvis Presley (his tenth, 2 weeks, Disk Jockey and Best Seller charts)
1990 – “She Ain’t Worth It” by Glenn Medeiros & Bobby Brown (Medeiros’ first, 2 weeks)

One comment on “Day 203: Bad Bad Leroy Brown

  1. […] Song: “Time In A Bottle” by Jim CroceReached #1: December 29, 1973 (his second, 2 weeks)Previously: Day 203 […]

Leave a Reply

