Day 248: Bailamos

Song: “Bailamos” by Enrique Iglesias
Reached #1: September 4, 1999 (his first, 2 weeks)
Previously: Day 176

Yeah.

When I put this list together in late 2011, I went through it trying to balance eras, artists, music types, etc. 

For the life of me, I can’t remember why I chose this song over the list you’ll see at the bottom of the page.  At the time, I’m sure I had a reason, but I don’t know what it was.

Fortunately, as I made the decision that once I locked down the list, I wasn’t going to change it, events have made the singer (if not the song) relevant.

Seems that Enrique Iglesias is one of the dozen or so names being bounced around for the judging panel for the 12th season of American Idol, something that I blog about extensively on my other blog.  They’ve already gotten Mariah Carey, are about to announce Nicki Minaj, may have Keith Urban on board, and are talking about a fourth judges’ seat for Iglesias.

Desperate much?

Oh, yeah, “Bailamos” was a creation of the same team that made Cher safe for the ‘90s with “Believe”, and it introduced Iglesias to the Anglophone market.  Whoever wrote the song’s Wikipedia article says that Carlos Santana’s “Smooth” became as successful as it did because “Bailamos” paved the way.  That person is, frankly, smoking something.

Tomorrow, the proto-metal song that my (not-at-all “rocking”) mom once said was her favorite song during a Mother’s Day bit for my late radio show…

Other songs that reached #1 on September 4:
1961 –
“Michael” by the Highwaymen (their first, 2 weeks)
1965 – “Help!” by the Beatles (their ninth, 3 weeks)
1971 – “Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey” by Paul & Linda McCartney (their first, 1 week)
1976 – “You Should Be Dancing” by the Bee Gees (their third, 1 week)
1982 – “Abracadabra” by the Steve Miller Band (their third, 2 weeks)

Leave a Reply

